Woodland Shade Gardening

Woodland shade gardening with a purpose – pleasure, creativity, rainwater collection!

Secrets to Happiness

The Five Secrets to Achieving Happiness in your Garden is a post on the blog titled May Dreams Gardens.  These five secrets are often floating through my thoughts, repeatedly reminding me of information that helps me make suitable decisions with my garden work and my garden designs.

The author tells us this happiness is as simple as:

1 – Grow the plants you love.  Only the plants you love.

Vinca groundcover is a plant I love to grow, giving me yearround greenery

Vinca ground cover is a plant I love to grow, giving me year round greenery. Other plants easily rise through it for a spring blossom show, and it acts as living mulch underneath shrubs.

Pale pink blossoms against green foliage always makes me happy

Pale pink blossoms against green foliage is a color combination that always makes me feel happy.

2 – Size your garden to the resources you have.  Space, time, physical ability, and money.

The back gardens on my third of an acre, just the right size for me to tend easily.

A view to the south, across the back gardens of my third of an acre, just the right size for me to tend easily.

3 – Buy good tools.

Before you hesitate about spending money on good tools, check out the prices on amazon.com!

Before you hesitate to spend extra money on good tools, check out their prices on amazon.com, as I did for these Burgon & Ball hand tools. Even my Lady Gardener small blade, long handle shovel came from amazon! It is perfect for digging in tightly-planted spaces, without disturbing nearby plants and their roots.

4 – Respect Mother Nature.  Accept hardiness zones & plant accordingly; compost & use that compost to amend the soil: choose organic methods & eliminate pesticides; choose plants that will attract birds, butterflies, bees & other wildlife.  These choices will eliminate frustration, heartache, worry & waste.

Clay berm to hold rainwater and decompose sticks more quickly.  A good covering of chipped leaves makes this an immediately invisible compost area.

Clay berm on low edge and sides holds sticks, and the extra rainwater that will decompose them more quickly. I always apply a sprinkling of loose dirt to filter down through the sticks, to hold even more moisture against them as they decompose. Then a topdressing of chipped leaves will completely hide the fact that here is a passive compost process.

Layering and grouping in a low area that holds rainwater, and shares supplemental water during dryer summer months

Layering and grouping in a low area that holds rainwater, with the plants being able to share supplemental watering during any summer dry spells. An excellent way to make the best use of rainwater, and water from the garden hose.

5 – Share your garden.  Visually; through pass-along plants, fruits & vegetables; share what you know about gardening; share your love of gardening & plants.

This is my condensed version of the basic concepts of the Five Secrets, but join me in embracing this wonderful written tool, as you read the original article www.maydreamsgardens.com/p/gardening-secrets.html to help you achieve the happiness and successes of gardening in your own life.

One comment on “Secrets to Happiness

  1. Clara
    September 7, 2015

    Reblogged this on I think.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 14, 2015 by in Back Woodland Gardens, Good Things, My Woodland Garden and tagged .
whiskey kittens

Woodland shade gardening with a purpose - pleasure, creativity, rainwater collection!

CAROLYN'S SHADE GARDENS

THE JOY OF GARDENING IN THE SHADOWS

Southern Wild

Garden & Home

