Woodland Shade Gardening

Woodland shade gardening with a purpose – pleasure, creativity, rainwater collection!

Adoptions

A friend emailed this peony bloom photo from

A friend emailed this peony bloom photo from “adopted” peony last season.

Last Friday afternoon was adoption time for two of my gardening friends. I had a number of plants that needed to be removed from certain areas, but I have run out of steam for transplanting this spring, and don’t want to try to decide where to place these as transplants in my own gardens. Many of my own plants were transplanted earlier this spring, and are doing well. Many newly purchased plants were also added this spring, so it is time to share the remaining bounty. Weeding and grooming my gardens is a number one priority at this time. This is a joyful time when I want to sit back and just watch what a season’s worth of maturing will look like in these gardens.

When people hear me say I will dig their plants and have them bagged and ready to go to their new homes, they seem to think I will be doing too much hard work to dig them. Most my plants are being dug from well-amended soil that the earthworms have been tilling for me, so it is not hard work to dig them out of the ground. My knowledge of precisely what I want to remove, the size of the root ball that needs to be lifted, and other factors, make it simpler to dig while alone, while I can think about it slowly as I make the decisions. I like to staple a name badge on each bagged plant. Many times friends have given me a number of plants at one time, and when I get home their names escape me. This is why I use name badges!

I often deplete my supply of plastic grocery bags this time of year because I give away so many plants. This is the joy of perennials – they are forever multiplying. Often the root balls are too large for grocery bags, so I use kitchen trash bags. But this year I discovered how useful empty mulch bags, and Daddy Pete’s Soil Enhancer bags can be. They are heavy, and can even be flooded with water to soak the root ball, after the plant arrives at its new home. This is helpful to a ‘field dug’ plant, to give it a moisture boost before being planted in its new location.

So, share a lot. And use everything – even empty mulch bags! And remember to keep your gardening priorities in order – when it’s time to stop planting, and begin grooming, be sure to realize the priority.

Adoption garden perennials ready for pick-up by gardening friends.

Adoption garden perennials ready for pick-up by gardening friends.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 19, 2015 by in Good Things.
whiskey kittens

Woodland shade gardening with a purpose - pleasure, creativity, rainwater collection!

CAROLYN'S SHADE GARDENS

THE JOY OF GARDENING IN THE SHADOWS

Southern Wild

Garden & Home

