Woodland Shade Gardening

Woodland shade gardening with a purpose – pleasure, creativity, rainwater collection!

I just had to know.

What is it?

That strange mucky thing in the creek mud that you first saw in Call it what you may… has kept me questioning what it is. I went back to the creek and lifted it out of the creek with some old kitchen tongs, and cut it in half with an old butcher knife. I mention that these are old, because I threw them away after using them for this experiment! I don’t know WHAT might be in that mud, because the creek routes rainwater runoff from so many yards and streets in this area.

But, here it is – the mystery item is simply a piece of waterlogged, aged wood! How long has it been there? Why is the top so rounded? How was I able to push the knife into the top of it then wiggle the knife to break it apart so easily? The wood can’t talk, so I will probably never know!

Mystery solved!!

Mystery solved!!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 12, 2015 by in My Woodland Garden, The Wetlands and tagged .
whiskey kittens

Woodland shade gardening with a purpose - pleasure, creativity, rainwater collection!

CAROLYN'S SHADE GARDENS

THE JOY OF GARDENING IN THE SHADOWS

Southern Wild

Garden & Home

