Woodland Shade Gardening

Woodland shade gardening with a purpose – pleasure, creativity, rainwater collection!

Spiderwort, do you love it, or not?

Some people really love Spiderwort, some people truly do not. Those who do not have many reasons – it is too old fashioned, therefore not sophisticated enough for their garden, or it colonizes too quickly and becomes invasive. But I am in the group of gardeners who love Spiderwort. I first encountered this plant, in luscious bloom highlighted by a strong ray of sunlight piercing a cathedral-like forest canopy, while hiking in a state park in East Texas, very many years ago. It radiated its deep blue color so magnificently – how could anyone consider it humble? I was instantly smitten, and am still able to recall the emotional burst of attraction to those lapiz-colored jewels, also known as blossoms!

My Spiderworts have lived in rich soil with plenty of moisture, in my gardens in North Texas, and now in my gardens here in the Southern Piedmont of North Carolina, and have always kept a neat, clumping habit. I have never cut them back after blooming, as some gardeners do, to keep them from reseeding. Cutting back the plant to within a few inches of the ground is also recommended to promote a second blooming in the same season. I think I will try that this year, and hope my polite little Spiderworts don’t mind this experiment. My wish is that all gardeners choose plants because they are attracted to their beauty, and don’t confine their choices to what is trendy.

Spiderworts have such dainty, but strong, blossoms.

Spiderworts have such dainty, but strong, blossoms.

Old fashion Spiderwort in my garden.

Old fashion Spiderwort in my garden.

Love the spiderwort in front of the varigated vinca major.

Love this combo.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 10, 2015 by in Uncategorized.
whiskey kittens

Woodland shade gardening with a purpose - pleasure, creativity, rainwater collection!

CAROLYN'S SHADE GARDENS

THE JOY OF GARDENING IN THE SHADOWS

Southern Wild

Garden & Home

