Woodland Shade Gardening

Woodland shade gardening with a purpose – pleasure, creativity, rainwater collection!

About that dirt…

Plants are a large part of a garden, but feeding the soil is seriously important.  Daddy Pete’s line of products have impressed me more than any products I have ever used.  They are more finely aged, when appropriate, and therefore improve my soil faster and more richly.

In this last year, I have ‘broken the crust’ on areas of ground that I have never dug before.  That very act seems to release something in the soil that improves the overall well being of the earth.  When planting, I always back fill with a mix of original dirt, chipped leaves from my property, bagged manure, and a soil enhancer made of pine fines (finely ground pine bark).

I often move less pleasant excavated soil to another area where it can age along with dry-rotted sticks that fall from the trees, as well as other organic debris.  I do not have a specific compost area, but am always layering whatever I have available, wherever it is needed for filler, and letting it break down at a passive rate.  Sometimes I harvest from these areas for another project, but often I just leave them alone indefinitely.

Adding earthworms to new plantings, years ago, has provided me with a wonderful population of compost processors!   The earthworms are now plentiful, and seem to travel all through the gardens – munching and providing their nutrient-rich castings.

d.peteDaddy Pete’s Plant Pleaser

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 5, 2015 by in Good Things.
whiskey kittens

Woodland shade gardening with a purpose - pleasure, creativity, rainwater collection!

CAROLYN'S SHADE GARDENS

THE JOY OF GARDENING IN THE SHADOWS

Southern Wild

Garden & Home

