Woodland Shade Gardening

Woodland shade gardening with a purpose – pleasure, creativity, rainwater collection!

A new dress can really make a girl’s day!

Topdressing garden beds with a good layer of mulch is so beneficial to feeding the soil, holding in moisture for the plants, and providing a nice finished look.

This Street Bed, as I call it, is all a passerby sees of my gardens, so keeping it a bit traditional and simple appeals to me.  Last spring’s layer of mulch, in addition to a thick topdressing of chipped leaves in January, is good enough to feed the soil and retain moisture.  But the edges looked faded and skimpy, so I added some pine bark mulch, my favorite, to neaten the overall look.

I wanted a black mailbox post, and decided to paint the current wooden post, instead of digging it up and purchasing a metal post.  Black mailbox posts on the market at this time are metal, but it seems okay to me to simply paint the sturdy post I already have in place.  For some reason, now that my post is black, the birds like to poo on it.  I never noticed this activity when it was a humble unpainted wooden post.  Does this mean I will be out by the street each day, with spray bottle of water and cloth in hand, removing the contrasting streaks of dried white bird poo? Probably not.  I will wait to see if the next rain shower removes it for me!

Front Street Bed, wearing last year's  mulch.

Front Street Bed, wearing last year’s mulch.

Newly 'dressed' street bed, with 'new' black mailbox post.

Newly ‘dressed’ street bed, with ‘new’ black mailbox post.

Shopping no longer appeals to me, so the makeover on the front door mat will keep me from having to shop and decide on a new door mat for a while.  I love a good coir mat, which is what you see here now.  The stiff coir fibers really scrape the residue off my gardening shoes so well.  But our front door is in a little alcove that heats up like an oven on summer afternoons.  This has a baking effect on anything in this area, especially the rubber surround on the mat.  Recently I stooped down and flicked a piece of the hardened surround off with my fingers and decided to remove all the material from the outer edge of the mat.  This look is okay for now, the remaining coir fibers are still great for shoe cleaning, and I will decide on a new mat when I paint the door daffodil yellow.

Front mat, definitely scrappy looking.

Front mat, definitely scrappy looking.

Front mat,  'new' after makeover.

Front mat, ‘new’ after makeover.

Yes, that is my plan – a yellow door.  But, we shall see if this still appeals to me when it is time to carry through with the project.  Or maybe I will do it soon – if I don’t like the yellow door, it will be easy enough to change it to yet another color, even if it is the original black.

Here’s my point – people think curb appeal is about a new design, purchasing new things, changing the look.  Often, improved curb appeal can be achieved by a new top ‘dressing’ and some primping. Maintain, maintain, maintain – for the best look!  That’s my theory.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 30, 2015 by in Front Woodland Gardens, Spring, The Seasons.
whiskey kittens

Woodland shade gardening with a purpose - pleasure, creativity, rainwater collection!

CAROLYN'S SHADE GARDENS

THE JOY OF GARDENING IN THE SHADOWS

Southern Wild

Garden & Home

