Woodland Shade Gardening

Woodland shade gardening with a purpose – pleasure, creativity, rainwater collection!

What I did today, after driving all over two counties!

Using something I’ve been storing, instead of buying something new, makes me feel good! We wanted to replace this 26-year old chaise lounge due to a fault it had developed. My search for a super sturdy replacement began a few weeks ago. Today Carl and I went out and about to touch and feel some of the possibilities. We even went to a store that sells the status logo brands, to see if they were really worth the extra money. Yes, some of them are quite sturdy, some are not impressively more sturdy, but they represented more than I intended to spend.
We didn’t find what met all our needs,  including a place for the dogs to lounge without falling through open spaces in the design. We got home and were sitting on the patio relaxing, after having spent part of our travel time in that traffic where Brookshire Freeway is being extended past Sharon Amity and Idlewild, and my thoughts began to get busy. I had an extra patio chair stored in an extra room in the house, and I began to visualize some rearrangement. This is what I came up with, and the simplicity really appeals to me.
The two-seater area is the first spot to be shady again in early afternoon, so I was often dragging a chair to that area to be in the shade. I also have some folding Coleman chairs to bring out, for extra seating. I do believe I need to find a black water bowl for Emily and Katy. I will search my cabinets for one tomorrow. Or maybe just a clear glass bowl will be less noticeable.
The arrangement first seemed a bit stark, so I considered breaking my rule/preference about potted plants. The potted crepe myrtle is one I will be giving to Phyllis, due to it having been in a very dry area and getting too much shade. So, I dug it and put it in the pot to allow it to be nurtured until she is ready to take it home and plant it. At that time I will decide what new plant I will put in the pot. Or not. I’m just not sure.
The bright yellow back of the rain gauge needs to be planted black. For several years now, I have enjoyed the way black items seem to disappear into the landscape. And I’m glad to finally get the rakes and shovels out of sight and store them in the garage. The heavy projects are finished for a while, so storing the tools may help me actually sit and relax. Out of sight, out of mind! Okay, like they say on the television remodel shows – Cost of this project: $0 ! ! !

The first photo I viewed, so I moved the rakes & shovels immediately!

The first photo I viewed, so I moved the rakes & shovels immediately!

No Feng Shui

No Feng Shui

Tiny patio, too much furniture

Tiny patio, too much furniture

New arrangement, pretend you see a bench!

New arrangement, pretend you see a bench!

Plenty of space now.

Plenty of space now.

Third chair was elsewhere, now it's here.

Third chair was elsewhere, now it’s here.

A bit stark.

A bit stark.

Emily is curious.

Emily is curious.

Tree draws the eye away from the starkness.

Tree draws the eye away from the starkness.

Some limbs are rather horizontal.

Some limbs are rather horizontal.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 24, 2015 by in Uncategorized.
whiskey kittens

Woodland shade gardening with a purpose - pleasure, creativity, rainwater collection!

CAROLYN'S SHADE GARDENS

THE JOY OF GARDENING IN THE SHADOWS

Southern Wild

Garden & Home

