Woodland Shade Gardening

Woodland shade gardening with a purpose – pleasure, creativity, rainwater collection!

Hostas, cleaning their water troughs

  Cleaning the fallen oak flowers from my plants is a spring ritual. This is just a cleanup to keep my plants looking better.  But I have learned that many plants have a leaf shape that collects and routes water to their base.  Hostas are a good example. The dried oak flowers clog the leaf’s opening to the stem’s little chute that carries the water to the ground around the base of the hosta – ground that is otherwise shielded from rainwater by the broad leaves of the plant itself.  I am beginning to have quite a few hostas, so this cleanup is taking longer to achieve than it used to.
  Now that I know about the water chute style of the stem, I don’t want to leave dried oak flower particles that may cause the stem to rot.  My fingers are too large to remove them, so I may begin to use serger tweezers for this, because they are long tweezers that would be perfect!  I will try not to let my neighbors see me being so obsessive about this situation!
  Most people complain a LOT about the piles of dry oak flowers on the ground this time of year, but not I!  The truth is, I use them for mulch and find them to break down nicely and feed the soil.  It is important for me to rake them off the top of the moss areas, or they will smother the moss for a while, until they decompose.  So I have a good supply – just one more way Mother Nature gives useful material to me.

6c23a-a-hostas-clean-their-wate

Oak Flower Buds

Oak Flower Buds

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 17, 2015 by in Uncategorized.
whiskey kittens

Woodland shade gardening with a purpose - pleasure, creativity, rainwater collection!

CAROLYN'S SHADE GARDENS

THE JOY OF GARDENING IN THE SHADOWS

Southern Wild

Garden & Home

