Woodland Shade Gardening

Woodland shade gardening with a purpose – pleasure, creativity, rainwater collection!

September day

Yesterday, I set out 3 Purple Pixie Loropetalums and a Green Velvet Boxwood.  The Purple Pixies will measure 18-24 inches tall x 3-4 feet in diameter, and the Green Velvet will measure 3-4 feet in diameter, but I will keep the top clipped off for a couple of years to keep it more flat, maybe 2 feet tall.  It has been clipped regularly at the nursery, so each time I clip height off of it, I plan to clip it in a way to have some forked branches to stick in the ground here & there to see if they root.  Normally I don’t prune for shape, but these evergreen shrubs will be used to drape out over the Fern Walk retaining wall in the front.  That is just one long ugly line of retaining wall stones sticking out and drawing the eye.  I’m trying to break it up a bit.  2 of the Purple Pixies are planted close enough to each other to grow into one large oblong shape.  But right now it all just looks like tiny balls of vegetation in that large space.  Today, I dug the elephant ears from the front door area and moved them to the Purple Pixie area.  I will send pictures in a few minutes.  I still need to photograph the elephant ears in their new location.  When I realized my neighbor’s elephant ears have been surviving the winters and coming back every year, I knew I had to get mine away from my thriving Japanese Painted ferns.  Maybe the name of my gardens should be AIM – Always In Motion!  Every time I move something, the soil types get mixed more, along with some organic matter added, and it all seems to get better & better.  Reading the Steve Silk articles on the Gardening Gone Wild blog let me know I’m not the only one who will move a plant several times before finding the place for it to stay, or giving up on it.  And it’s alright to get rid of a plant that I just don’t really feel attracted to.  Teresa is ALWAYS ready to adopt anything I am giving away.  And now I have learned Al & Alice, at the curve in our cul-de-sac, feel the same way about adopting give-away plants.  Again, it gives me more things to view in the distance!
Green Velvet Boxwood & Purple Pixie Loropetalum.

Green Velvet Boxwood & Purple Pixie Loropetalum.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 21, 2014 by in Uncategorized.
whiskey kittens

Woodland shade gardening with a purpose - pleasure, creativity, rainwater collection!

CAROLYN'S SHADE GARDENS

THE JOY OF GARDENING IN THE SHADOWS

Southern Wild

Garden & Home

