Woodland Shade Gardening

Woodland shade gardening with a purpose – pleasure, creativity, rainwater collection!

Went back…

I went back on my word and picked up a shovel this morning, along with a bag of Daddy Pete’s brand soil enhancer with pine fines that I bought last week at King’s Greenhouse.  It’s true I wasn’t going to do any heavy digging again until cool weather, but I got an idea in my head for scavenging up all the remaining plants from around the yard that are struggling to stay moist enough.  The area of sunken soil behind the retaining wall stones was my target!  In photo #4, it’s hard to see the Achillea tucked at the opening of each wedge of soil between the stones, and the gnarled tiny trunk of the Salvia Gregeii with it’s single branch laying on top of the periwinkle between there and the tree trunk, and the tiny lime green clivia foliage of 2 bulbs, and some wintergreen and a columbine. The wintergreen and columbine were previously in the pocket garden by the double gate, which won’t seem to hold moisture at the up-hill end.  That whole back right corner is on a bed of shale rock and loses moisture so quickly.  Mother gave me the Clivia bulbs when we were moving her belongings from Florida after Daddy died.  They’ve been in the dry front bed out by the street all these years.  Maybe they will feel nourished in their new location and flourish.  Ah, nourish & flourish!  I didn’t plan that sentence!  The Acanthus and the Ghost Painted Fern to the right of the acanthus, were from the back left  corner of the back yard.  I dug out all the sedum that was in this sunken location & put 6-7 pieces in each hole that was recently vacated when I transplanted the baptisia to a sunnier location.  So the sedum should be full and impressive mounds next year, instead of straggly like it was behind these retaining wall stones.  For the acanthus, I had to dig the hole deeper, and found myself with an excellent ‘pie’ shape of well-rooted periwinkle.  So I wedged the periwinkle pie against some sedum already in place and used a piece of slate from Grandma Tarlton’s gardens to hold the soil up against the acanthus.  So if all this thrives, it will look good someday.  The acanthus will be 4-6′ and the ghost painted fern will be 30″.    Someday.    I also added a variegated hosta to the opposite side of the far cobblestone walk, between the variegated liriope and euphorbia ‘Diamond Frost’.  That is the walk that comes from the center of the patio.  Also, another Japanese holly fern from the back left corner, planted out from the far edge of the patio.  The Japanese holly fern is supposed to colonize well.  Do you have any experience with it to know this to be true?  I think I will plant additional evergreen shrubs in the back left corner, instead of having moisture-loving small plants there.  It is so easy to keep the Eva Peron Bed, and that general area, watered.  I will just have a shrub forest around the outer edges of the yard, inside the fence, and keep all the smaller items up close to the patio.  Well, once again, I plan to not pick up the shovel and do any more projects until cool weather!  What kinds of projects have you been doing in Mother’s gardens?  I need to come by for a guided tour and get you to tell me about the befores and afters.  Hope you are having a good holiday weekend.
 
Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 31, 2014 by in Uncategorized.
whiskey kittens

Woodland shade gardening with a purpose - pleasure, creativity, rainwater collection!

CAROLYN'S SHADE GARDENS

THE JOY OF GARDENING IN THE SHADOWS

Southern Wild

Garden & Home

