Woodland Shade Gardening

Woodland shade gardening with a purpose – pleasure, creativity, rainwater collection!

Today’s project COMPLETED!

Carl was a tremendous help with this project, and was the reason it was completed in less than an hour!  He stood outside the fence and pitched, to inside the fence, armloads of the stick berms I created this spring.  While he pitched, I kind of sorted and placed the material to hopefully be less of an eyesore in the gardens.  The berms outside the fence didn’t rot down and flatten as quickly as I had hoped and were a real eyesore.  Wish I had taken a ‘before’ picture of the outside of the fence before we began the move.  While moving the piles today, we learned a lot of the material lower in the piles was breaking down well.  There were two very large piles outside the fence.  We moved one into the low area inside a clay berm I built for a future evergreen tree or large shrub.  That is between the holly and the acanthus.  We moved another pile to the original ‘fern bog’ I had been working on for a couple of years, in preparation for the area where the acanthus is now planted.  That is the area where water stands the longest amount of time, so I assumed any sticks laying there would break down faster.  That was definitely true.  This spring I raked up all that great organic matter toward the acanthus and ferns, leaving an open area in front where rainwater can stand and slowly soak in to the newly planted acanthus and ferns around the edges.  So, now, even though it doesn’t look too good, we have another crop of sticks that will catch dirt and organic matter, rot down, and become a good mix to begin my Log Fern bed in a year or two.  Log Ferns like to grow in rotting logs and tree stumps.  I thought all this was going to take hours, but it was finished so easily, with 2 of us working on it, and now I feel like I have the day off!  Now, let me think – where is another project I can get into today?!
:-\


Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 12, 2014 by in Uncategorized.
whiskey kittens

Woodland shade gardening with a purpose - pleasure, creativity, rainwater collection!

CAROLYN'S SHADE GARDENS

THE JOY OF GARDENING IN THE SHADOWS

Southern Wild

Garden & Home

