Woodland Shade Gardening

Woodland shade gardening with a purpose – pleasure, creativity, rainwater collection!

Couldn’t help myself…

I had a 12:45 appointment today, but as I lay in bed last night, I calculated I could start early this morning and move some hostas & lantanas into the edge of this bed and still have time to shower and get to the appointment on time.  And, YES!  I did! Hopefully, these plants will be so happy in this new location, they will grow fast and help cover some of the dirt I put in to fill in the trenches.  The hostas were in too much shade, I think, because they weren’t doing as well as the ones, of the same variety, that were in more light.  The lantanas were in areas that had become shady, so maybe they will appreciate more sun.  The lantanas are a bit chewed at this time, by the Smart girls, who love the lemony taste of the leaves, probably for freshening their breath!  But I use bitter spray on them to deter the chewing, and it works well. Now that the lantanas are in a bed to which I will be paying extra attention, I will remember to keep bitter spray on them consistently enough to let them grow a bit.


Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 8, 2014 by in Uncategorized.
whiskey kittens

Woodland shade gardening with a purpose - pleasure, creativity, rainwater collection!

CAROLYN'S SHADE GARDENS

THE JOY OF GARDENING IN THE SHADOWS

Southern Wild

Garden & Home

