Woodland Shade Gardening

Woodland shade gardening with a purpose – pleasure, creativity, rainwater collection!

Old Path – New Path

Last year I did a terrible thing and trimmed the limbs on the path side of the leyland on the right so we could walk through.  Now it looks deformed, but is beginning to fill back in.  In the pictures, the narrowness of the passageway doesn’t really show well.  Also, there are several changes in ground level, with tree roots that trip me often, even though I think I am being careful not to let them trip me.  The ground is very sunken and eroded between the roots, which makes it worse.  The new path is kind of high ground and I am digging it away to lower it and divert the rainwater to the low curve of the path and on into that bed on the edge of it.  That has always been a hard bed to keep wet.  I get good rainwater coming off Ann’s wooded area outside the fence, which is uphill enough to give me the drainage.  But then the rainwater runs parallel with the fence and straight to the back corner, which is exactly where all the rainwater on that half the yard, and most of the front yard, tends to collect.  So, in addition to the low curve of the new path diverting the water coming from my yard, I plan to dig some shallow diversion trenches off the path by the fence, to route the water into the backside of the Island Bed.  I will loosely fill them with leaves to conceal them.  This has been a good technique in several areas already, and the leaves break down faster because of the extra water.  If you have any ideas about any of this, let me know.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 14, 2014 by in Uncategorized.
whiskey kittens

Woodland shade gardening with a purpose - pleasure, creativity, rainwater collection!

CAROLYN'S SHADE GARDENS

THE JOY OF GARDENING IN THE SHADOWS

Southern Wild

Garden & Home

